For Freshmen

Alfred & Marge Crabaugh Scholarship Program

This scholarship was established through the benevolence of Alfred J. & Marge W. Crabaugh, both of whom were prominent figures in the history of Arkansas Tech University and the River Valley community. This renewable scholarship will be awarded to outstanding full-time student(s) who have an ACT score of 21 or above, demonstrate leadership skills, and excel in Speech, Journalism or Communication. To be considered for this award, in addition to the above stated criteria, entering freshmen must submit two letters of recommendation from teachers, a scholarship application, and high school transcripts. The scholarship can be renewed with the original recipient provided he/she continues to meet the criteria, maintains a 3.0 grade point average, and has written renewal recommendations from two Arkansas Tech University faculty members in their field of study. Renewal recommendations must be made to the Journalism Department.

Gene Farmer Memorial Award

A grant is awarded to an Arkansas high school editor who plans to specialize in either journalism or political science at Arkansas Tech University. This award, to honor and encourage a student of outstanding ability, will be made to the high school editor whose academic and journalistic accomplishments indicate the greatest potential for distinguished service in either field. The award, from the income of the Gene Farmer Memorial Endowment, is in memory of one of Arkansas Tech’s most distinguished graduates, who from a beginning as editor of Tech’s student newspaper, achieved national and international prominence as a journalist. Mr. Farmer authored several books and worked for many years as a senior editor for Life Magazine.


For Current Students

Gerald Edgar Scholarship

A performance scholarship is awarded each spring in honor of Gerald Edgar who was News Bureau Director, advisor of student publications, and journalism professor for twenty-nine years at Arkansas Tech University. It is to be awarded to a student who shows ability in and dedication to publications work. Financial need will be considered. The student will be required to work ten hours per week on student publications.

Clifford & Mary Anne Franks Scholarship

To be considered for this award, the student must be involved in the Arkansas Tech Theater Department and be in good academic standing.

Dr. Hanna Norton Public Relations Scholarship

This scholarship has been established to honor Dr. Hanna Norton and will benefit a student majoring in Public Relations.  The recipient must be a junior or senior level Public Relations major with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.25.  Applicants must demonstrate the mastering of public relations principles and skills through his or her coursework.  Applicant must demonstrate financial need and submit three letters of recommendation:  two from Tech faculty members (one must be a journalism professor) and one personal reference (i.e. former employer, pastor, etc.) who is familiar with the student’s work ethic and personal background. Additionally, the applicant must include a letter stating the individual’s interest in public relations and career goals.  This scholarship is renewable for the spring semester as long as the recipient continues to meet the above criteria.

Kathleen Tucker Hollabaugh Journalism

This scholarship is funded by the Pope County Historical Association in honor of Kathleen Tucker Hollabaugh, the first woman editor of the Arka-Tech. The annual award will be made to a sophomore, junior or senior journalism major each year funds are sufficient and will be based on commitment to journalism and work in the field. A letter about commitment to journalism and samples of the applicant’s work should accompany the scholarship application.

Television Broadcasters of Arkansas Scholarship

重庆欢乐生肖投注网站 This scholarship was established through the generosity of the Television Broadcasters of Arkansas and will be awarded each year that funds are available.  Applicant must be a full- or part-time student at Arkansas Tech majoring in Journalism/Broadcast Option with the goal of pursuing a career in broadcast television.  Preference will be given to a junior or senior student who reflects academic accomplishment.  Financial need will be strongly considered.  A minimum GPA of 3.0 is required, with at least two semesters completed at Arkansas Tech University.  Applicant must show participation in extra-curricular activities within the Department of Journalism.